Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

Koch Eye Associates wants to thank all of our wonderful patients who have taken the time to give us feedback on our practice. We know that online reviews are one of the most far-reaching and influential ways to let future patients know what they can expect when they visit us. At each of our eight locations spanning the coast of Rhode Island, our team of ophthalmologists, optometrists, and opticians strive to provide the best patient experiences. We believe that eye health is integral to a full, independent life so we want to make sure you can feel good about making appointments for regular exams. We hope these reviews help you in your decision to visit Koch Eye Associates. Please contact one of our advanced vision centers in Greater Rhode Island to get to know us today.

Filter44 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Google  |  May 05, 2024

The staff in Wakefield recently gave me the best eyecare service ever. The folks at Reception were friendly and helpful and Dr. Tresca provided excellent care. Most noteworthy was my experience with Ms. Hicks in the Glasses Shop. She was generous enough with her product knowledge, as well as her time, to walk me through several combinations of lens-types and colors, and frames, for three pairs of glasses. Great staff, very nice facility, parking, you get it; just go. More

1.0
DAPI
Review from G.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 19, 2024

I can't fault the providers- they have been great. However, the optical shop has been horrendous. I ordered glasses for myself and my daughter and SIX WEEKS later, nothing. I've called several times- no one has ever answered the phone or returned a message, and so I have to call the main receptionist and ask to speak to someone in optical- only to be told "there's been a delay (not sure what), hopefully they come in next week". After complaining that I've been told this for several weeks, I did not receive a single apology or empathetic response. I asked for my prescription and took them to nearby CPS Optix and got glasses on the same visit! More

1.0
DAPI
Review from J.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 20, 2024

Not happy. You are just a number here. Wrong prescription glasses given to me. Cannot see a thing with them. Done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2024

Great team of ladies in the Optical Shop !! Hello Eileen, Dot and Hailey. Eileen was super helpful in my choosing a pair of glasses and I am now enjoying my new “red” glasses !! Thank You !! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 10, 2024

Everyone in the office is polite and respectful. Wait time for appointment is short..we waited about 5 minutes. Getting new glasses for my son was simple, and fast. More

1.0
DAPI
Review from C.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 13, 2024

I went to Koch Eye associates for an annual eye exam.  I recently moved to Rhode Island and needed a physician in my area.  I found Dr Santos cold with little to no "bedside manner".  It took three weeks to get new contact lenses to try.  I had to go for a "fitting appointment" and got new lenses to try.  After 6 hours the lenses irritated my eyes and I removed them.   I left numerous messages but Dr Santos never called back.  When I call again and insisted that he give me another brand of lens to try I was told that I needed to come in for yet ANOTHER appointment.  I reported Koch Eye associates to my insurance company and United Health agreed that Koch Eye was "padding " appointments to collect more money from the insurance company.  I have switched to anothert eye doctor.  I would never recommend Koch Eye Associates and I will never go back to them. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 07, 2024

I highly recommend this office. I was impressed by both Dr. Michael Santos and Lindsay, Optical Associate. Both were very thorough, highly professional and very competent. Lindsay worked very diligently with me to find the perfect glasses for me and I am very pleased with her service. I am a Dentist and need good vision for my profession and am confident that I had an excellent exam and glasses which are not only comfortable, but also highly functional. All staff were very professional from check in to check out and the technician who did original work-up on me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.K.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 31, 2023

I come here once a year to get my eye exam and any glasses I need as allowed from my insurance. My experience has always been so pleasant and smooth! Whatever I need, I ask and it’s fulfilled. Plus I have the best eye doctor. This recent visit, the check in was a young lady who was sweet and pleasant. I liked that no PII (personal identifiable info) wasn’t said out loud. My wait time was short or maybe I didn’t noticed because I was too preoccupied watching the Food Network competition between teenagers baking. They have kids on there now??? I was soon called in by the eye assistant, don’t know what you formerly call them but she was pleasant too! Then I got to see my yearly eye doctor and she’s so great too. I always look forward to getting my yearly eye physical here. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 13, 2023

I just went to Koch Eye Associate for the first time. I had a wonderful experience. I went there for my opticals I met Dot She was extremely helpful, professional, compassionate, and caring.Dot was very thorough and she had a lot of expert advice to give me about my eyeglasses. I would highly recommend Koch Eye associates, and if you’re looking for opticals, please go see Dot she will take great care of you. Thank you Koch Eye associates. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 17, 2023

We went to the optical shop to see if they had more variety than our regular eye doctor office. We were taken care of right away by Haley and she was attentive and kind. She really looked at the glasses with us and made sure they were the right fit and look. We didn’t feel rushed and she went above and beyond even fixing my husbands current glasses to make them more comfortable. Would recommend a trip there for new glasses! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 17, 2023

We went to the optical shop to see if they had more variety than our regular eye doctor office. We were taken care of right away by Haley and she was attentive and kind. She really looked at the glasses with us and made sure they were the right fit and look. We didn't feel rushed and she went above and beyond even fixing my husbands current glasses to make them more comfortable. Would recommend a trip there for new glasses! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 13, 2023

I love this location. They are always so friendly and helpful. I stopped in today because one of my lenses kept falling out of my frames and Lindsay helped me right away. This is the second time she's helped me repair a set of glasses within minutes and free of charge. She gets them back to brand new and it's such a relief to have someone quickly fix something rather than them telling you that you have to send them out for a repair, wait however long to get them back, and then pay who knows how much. Thank you Lindsay! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 11, 2023

It was my husband's and my first time here. We needed to find a new eye doctor due to a change in his insurance. So far everything and everyone was amazing! Fun the girls and the front desk, to the nice person who tried her hardest to get me in with my husband instead of going back in the afternoon. The woman who took me back to the exam room was very nice. Dr Tess, can't say or spell her last name, was very thorough and took her time. To Kathy where we selected our glasses. The whole process was easy and flawless. Thank you to you all! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.R.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 21, 2023

Excellent Lasik experience! I had fun with the staff, the appointment for candidacy was thorough and consultative, and a week later the surgery itself took about 4 min. The cost of glasses and contacts will repay this quickly and now the only thing limiting my vision is the curvature of the earth. My wife will be going next! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 06, 2023

Koch Eye exceeds expectations. I’ve been a patient since I was 14 and now have two teens of my own who are always accommodated when we come. Today the 2 girls in the optical department downstairs went the extra mile to make sure my son had his glasses today and with the updated script despite challenges faced with my insurance and HSA plan. Very thankful! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2023

I was 1 hr and 15 minutes early for my appt, (my fault) Holly was able to get me in to see Dr Lewis in 20 minutes, the staff is great and so is Dr Lewis, After getting my prescription from Dr Lewis I went to the eye center next door and Deb help me pick out a nice comfortable pair of eye glasses, $99 for a pair of progressive glasses. Brian More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Feb 08, 2023

I have been going to this practice for several years and have always been satisfied. I want to comment on Kathy in the Optical center. She is very friendly and knowledgeable She helps find suitable glasses and takes care that you are satisfied with your selection. She is very patient and doesn't rush the client. Kathy is always courteous and gives the best customer service. Kathy is really the best. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 31, 2023

Always a pleasure to see Dr Scharff. The optical shop staff is very helpful and the selection of glasses, contacts and LASIK are all available. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from V.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 04, 2023

Went to the optical shop today to adjust my glasses and they addressed me promptly as well as fixing my frame to my liking. Thank you! I did make an appointment beforehand, which I recommend you do as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 12, 2022

Extremely impressed with the service!! The facility made you feel at ease especially, when I cancelled my consultation 3x!! I recommend this to everyone, no matter how old you are!!! Had glasses for over 43 years!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 04, 2022

Just a short note to thank Kathy in the optical shop in the Wakefield office for her professional and courteous service. She helped me find the perfect set of glasses! She was very easy to work with and it was a pleasure dealing with her. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 20, 2022

Amy and erica are beyond belef the lovliest,kindest,most efficient wonderful people my 89 yr old father,whos a korean war veteran,and i ,have met in a very long lon long time. These 2 young ladies made our week ,if not our year. Hopefully koch is aware of yhe priceless vakue these 2 people are wi5hin thwre business.joseph e alves Ericka again was,so helpful I had a change of glasses and she helped me just like before What a pleasure to see her again There arent alot of erikas out there Koch eye assciates your very lucky Treat her with kidd gloves the same way she treats people More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 23, 2022

A whole new world! My vision was at almost -5 before the surgery and now I have better than 20/20 vision! The staff are all so lovely and were very reassuring and comforting during the surgery. The recovery time short and I was up and back to my regular routine the next day. I no longer have to fumble for my glasses in the middle of the night or count contacts to make sure I can make it to my next eye appointment. 10/10 recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.“.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 21, 2021

I have nothing but great things to say about Dr. Burns & Koch Eye Associates in South Kingstown. I've never had a problem getting an appointment, and all my questions are thoroughly answered by the doctor as well as the staff conducting different tests. I have a fairly complicated medical situation, with multiple issues that tend to complicate treatment. Dr. Burns has always been able to find the right course of treatment to keep my eyes healthy, and still seeing pretty sharp, especially considering my age. I have no hesitation in recommending Dr. Burns to any of my friends. As far as prescription glasses go, I have gotten several pair here and the last pair of wound up having scratches in them after about 4 or 5 months of wear. I brought them back, and without any discussion, or complicated processes, lenses were replaced under warranty. Couldn't ask for better service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.“.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 18, 2021

I have nothing but great things to say about Dr. Burns & Koch Eye Associates in South Kingstown. I've never had a problem getting an appointment, and all my questions are thoroughly answered by the doctor as well as the staff conducting different tests. I have a fairly complicated medical situation, with multiple issues that tend to complicate treatment. Dr. Burns has always been able to find the right course of treatment to keep my eyes healthy, and still seeing pretty sharp, especially considering my age. I have no hesitation in recommending Dr. Burns to any of my friends. As far as prescription glasses go, I have gotten several pair here and the last pair of wound up having scratches in them after about 4 or 5 months of wear. I brought them back, and without any discussion, or complicated processes, lenses were replaced under warranty. Couldn't ask for better service. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 18, 2021

Absolutely wonderful doctors and the staff is so friendly and efficient. Optical center was amazing as well. Courteous and spent a good amount of time with me to order glasses and discuss options More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.E.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 31, 2021

Absolutely wonderful doctors and the staff is so friendly and efficient. Optical center was amazing as well. Courteous and spent a good amount of time with me to order glasses and discuss options More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

Dr Lewis is the best! Very thorough, compassionate and answers all my questions. The staff are friendly and helpful. The ladies in the optic shop are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the best glasses I require. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 19, 2021

A huge thanks, especially to Zack, also Erica and Amy, all optical assistants at the optical center. They’re prompt, pleasant, patient and extremely helpful. They saw me through a particularly frustrating experience,….. not of their making. I so appreciate their guidance and expertise which finally led to the right prescription glasses. Their prices are comparable and the service is quick. Finally I can drive with new glasses and that enable me to see both distance and the fine print on the dashboard! I will be back for future glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 06, 2021

Dr Lewis is the best! Very thorough, compassionate and answers all my questions. The staff are friendly and helpful. The ladies in the optic shop are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the best glasses I require. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 22, 2021

A huge thanks, especially to Zack, also Erica and Amy, all optical assistants at the optical center. They’re prompt, pleasant, patient and extremely helpful. They saw me through a particularly frustrating experience,….. not of their making. I so appreciate their guidance and expertise which finally led to the right prescription glasses. Their prices are comparable and the service is quick. Finally I can drive with new glasses and that enable me to see both distance and the fine print on the dashboard! I will be back for future glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.G.  |  Source: Google  |  May 19, 2021

I had been going to LensCrafters for ages and have been paying way too much money for eyewear. On top of that, the office of Jewel Eye Associates (the eye doctors contracted with them) was billing my insurance in a very shady way and refused to provide me details of why they were doing so. Suffice to say I needed a new eye doctor. I came to Koch Eye (office on Greenwich Ave) and the staff there is absolutely wonderful. Every single person there was friendly and helpful. The office is clean and organized. Best of all, I got a new pair of glasses AND sunglasses for less than what I paid for one pair at other places. 10/10 recommend Koch Eye for your vision needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 28, 2021

I had been going to LensCrafters for ages and have been paying way too much money for eyewear. On top of that, the office of Jewel Eye Associates (the eye doctors contracted with them) was billing my insurance in a very shady way and refused to provide me details of why they were doing so. Suffice to say I needed a new eye doctor. I came to Koch Eye (office on Greenwich Ave) and the staff there is absolutely wonderful. Every single person there was friendly and helpful. The office is clean and organized. Best of all, I got a new pair of glasses AND sunglasses for less than what I paid for one pair at other places. 10/10 recommend Koch Eye for your vision needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 18, 2021

I am in my sixties and have been wearing glasses for literally a half century. I believe the pair prescribed and filled, and fitted by, Koch Eye are the most comfortable I have ever had. The glasses are a complex prescription with progressive lenses, and they clearly are the right prescription. The fitting was excellent — I am used to glasses, but these ones feel like they are “transparent”. I have had a couple of incidents at night where I have forgotten they were on. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 24, 2021

I am in my sixties and have been wearing glasses for literally a half century. I believe the pair prescribed and filled, and fitted by, Koch Eye are the most comfortable I have ever had. The glasses are a complex prescription with progressive lenses, and they clearly are the right prescription. The fitting was excellent — I am used to glasses, but these ones feel like they are “transparent”. I have had a couple of incidents at night where I have forgotten they were on. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 10, 2021

Thank you for your services. All the employees-doctors, associates and customer’s services are so welcome and kind. They always give the best they can. Also l was glad to receive my glasses before the due-date. Thank you for all the Koche eye family! Ibrahima Sarr. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 11, 2021

I have everyone to thank at Koch Eye Associates in Cranston for helping me make one of the best decisions I've ever made! My Lasik surgery performed by Dr. Sayegh exceeded my expectations through his professionalism, accuracy and care. Karen also worked with me to ensure I was comfortable and prepared; she's lovely! If you are a very active person who is over glasses fogging & contacts drying, Lasik is so worth it and Koch Eye in Cranston is the best place to go for friendly, affordable care. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 13, 2019

I had been going to Vision World/ Works for the last 20 years for eye exams, glasses, contacts. When I was last seen a few years ago I was told my eyes had weakened and I needed -6.0 in my left eye and -5.0 in my right, a substantial increase from -4.75 left and -3.75 right two years before. Needless to say I experienced hyperopia and needed readers for the first time. I wasn't able to read labels, see my phone, or use a laptop without readers of at least +2.5. I was recently seen by Dr Besen at Koch Eye who prescribed contacts of -5.25 left and -4.25 right. I'm absolutely certain that Vision World had me in lenses that were too strong because now I can see my laptop without readers, and I can see my phone if I hold it at arms length. Not only can I see better (for distance as well as close up), but the entire experience of walking into Koch, being greeted by reception, having a preliminary exam by the optician assistants, receiving a full eye exam by the optometrist, being properly fitted for glasses by the optician, and checking out with reception, is exponentially superior with Koch. Clearly the entire staff enjoy their careers, and are friendly, professional, and completely competent. Thank you, Koch Eye Associates! I will recommend you to everyone I know. Sincerely, Kate Carroll More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 13, 2019

I had been going to Vision World/ Works for the last 20 years for eye exams, glasses, contacts. When I was last seen a few years ago I was told my eyes had weakened and I needed -6.0 in my left eye and -5.0 in my right, a substantial increase from -4.75 left and -3.75 right two years before. Needless to say I experienced hyperopia and needed readers for the first time. I wasn't able to read labels, see my phone, or use a laptop without readers of at least +2.5. <br /> I was recently seen by Dr Besen at Koch Eye who prescribed contacts of -5.25 left and -4.25 right. I'm absolutely certain that Vision World had me in lenses that were too strong because now I can see my laptop without readers, and I can see my phone if I hold it at arms length.<br /> Not only can I see better (for distance as well as close up), but the entire experience of walking into Koch, being greeted by reception, having a preliminary exam by the optician assistants, receiving a full eye exam by the optometrist, being properly fitted for glasses by the optician, and checking out with reception, is exponentially superior with Koch. Clearly the entire staff enjoy their careers, and are friendly, professional, and completely competent. <br /> Thank you, Koch Eye Associates! I will recommend you to everyone I know.<br /> Sincerely, <br /> Kate Carroll More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2019

I had Lasik done with Koch, the experience was painless! the staff was comforting and made you feel like you were well taken care of. My vision has never been better even though I have worn contact lenses for years I felt I could never get real clarity like I have now. I would recommend this practice to anyone who wants to have the procedure done. It is well worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.D.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 30, 2018

I had Lasik done with Koch, the experience was painless! the staff was comforting and made you feel like you were well taken care of. My vision has never been better even though I have worn contact lenses for years I felt I could never get real clarity like I have now. I would recommend this practice to anyone who wants to have the procedure done. It is well worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 29, 2018

I had Lasik done with Koch about 8 years ago, the experience was painless! the staff was comforting and made you feel like you were well taken care of.  My vision has never been better even though I have worn contact lenses for years I felt I could never get real clarity like I have now. I would recommend this practice to anyone who wants to have the procedure done. It is well worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2016

I have been going to Koch Eye Associates in Providence since I was 12 years old and Dr. Earle Scharff is still there and just as excellent as when he first started, maybe more if that’s possible. The Practice has all the bells and whistles to equipment, new technology and courteous customer help. If you want your vision to be the best it can possibly be, this is the place for you. Maria at the front desk and Kathy in the on-site optical shop always get you what you want, while making sure you are covered as much as your insurance will allow. You will get personal assistance and the pleasure of special attention as far as them listening, having patience, and even throwing in some free contact lens samples. Maria will even take your new glasses out to your car curbside at pickup.My daughter now she goes, no matter where we live in Rhode Island, I will go out of my way to keep going here because they are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.M.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 07, 2021

The customer service that I received this morning from Maria at the downtown Providence location of Koch Eye Associates was excellent! This morning when I got up I discovered that the dog had chewed on the lenses of my glasses. Maria made a phone call and got everything taken care of for me. My glasses are being repaired and I should have them back in a few days. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.