Patient Reviews

Reviews for Koch Eye Associates

Patient Reviews

Koch Eye Associates wants to thank all of our wonderful patients who have taken the time to give us feedback on our practice. We know that online reviews are one of the most far-reaching and influential ways to let future patients know what they can expect when they visit us. At each of our eight locations spanning the coast of Rhode Island, our team of ophthalmologists, optometrists, and opticians strive to provide the best patient experiences. We believe that eye health is integral to a full, independent life so we want to make sure you can feel good about making appointments for regular exams. We hope these reviews help you in your decision to visit Koch Eye Associates. Please contact one of our advanced vision centers in Greater Rhode Island to get to know us today.

Filter24 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2019

I first went to Koch Eye many years ago after being referred there for a follow up appointment after being treated at the emergency room for an eye injury, That was the only time I actually saw Dr. Koch himself (who was very nice by the way) It is only in the last few years (since my old lady eyes have begun to need reading glasses) that I have come in regularly for my eye exam and glasses prescription. I never have any problem with wait time because there are several optometrists. Really the only thing I am not crazy about is their hours. I wish it was possible to get an evening appointment or that there was an occasional Saturday. The office staff is pleasant and courteous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2019

Dr Rosenfeld is definitely one the best in the industry. Always makes you feel very comfortable ask plenty of questions to get the right answer the man is very compassionate and knows his job! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 02, 2019

I stopped in because I bent my glasses during a trip north and I needed them readjusted. When I asked if they could fix it, Kathy got right up to help me out.  She spent a good amount of time trying to get the right fit and the arm back in place.  She was so nice and helpful and when I went to offer to pay, she said there was no charge! I bought my glasses in PA so I was  grateful for her help and customer service. Thank you Kathy! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2019

I took my daughter (8 y/o) here for her exam, she's never been to an optometrist before and is completely scared of any Dr visits. The staff was great! They were very nice and talked with my daughter and told her everything they were going to do, look at, and what all the equipment was. Afterwards, the lady that works with the frames was super helpful, despite everyplace having limited selections for kids frames we found something our daughter wouldn't mind wearing. She also did a great job explaining the sizes and how to understand what we were looking at. Definitely a great place if your kid never been to optometrist before! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2019

I love Dr. Burns and the ladies at the front desk. I am always in and out and never have trouble making an appointment. Today I looked at the eye glasses shop inside and was pleasantly surprised. The selection was better than I expected considering how small it is compared to LensCrafters. I paid half of what I would have paid at LensCrafters for the same thing. The woman who helped me was great she let me browse and when I found something I liked she was very helpful. I would definitely get glasses here again and will always come back for my exam. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 24, 2019

Been going there for years clean, efficienct, dedicated to helping someone whether rich or poor. Very upset about the raid by the FBI  we are not IN Nazi Germany. Creates an impression on people that is false. As a attorney I find it abhorrent that some Judge who is obviously afraid that Koch would shred documents is insane.. PETER KOCh my friend even wrote a letter for me to Law School Committee for me to. Get large print on my Lsat. I graduaie Rutgers Law with honors and to this day love their offices. Shame on the FBI. Have shared my opinion with other social media sites. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2019

I got Lasik surgery at the end of November, and it's been everything I'd hoped for and more.  Everyone from the front desk to the nurses and doctors were very kind and clear about what was going to happen and when.  The whole surgery took less than 10 minutes, and I was in and out of the office within an hour on the day of the surgery.  The procedure was painless and the slight burning later in the day was gone by dinner. My vision was immediately better and as of today my vision is 20/15, better than 20/20!  And it'll keep getting better since your vision isn't 100% final for 3-4 months. I can't say enough good things about my whole experience here.  I definitely recommend Koch Lasik to anyone even considering getting the procedure done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 23, 2018

Just writing about the glasses shop - not the doctors. I thought the selection was large and fairly priced compared to other glasses shops in the area. They were carrying the specific glasses I saw at Len's Crafters that I wanted. The price was lower and they accepted my VSP insurance unlike Lens Crafters. The saleswoman was extremely friendly. I'm really excited for my new glasses from here to come in! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 14, 2017

Kathy is amazing. I've broken my frames twice. I NEED my glasses. She knows which look best on your face and who are we kidding? They're on your face all day so it's pretty important. She took me in right away. I'm so glad to have a person like this in my life. Always there when I need her. Forgot the Dr's name but when I saw him we had some laughs about pink eye and contacts. Overall. . . This place is great from reception til the end. Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 31, 2017

I first went to DR. Koch when lasik  was new. It had to be at least ten years ago. I was so scared at first because it was something new and not knowing what to expect, everyone was so caring and informative. Now after at having perfect vision I am now starting with blurred vision. I have called for an appointment and was told that the lasik only lasts for a certain amount of time! I was never told that, but it does make sense as our eyes do change with age...will update this after the next appt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 17, 2017

Koch has been my eye place for the past two years and has done an excellent job with my glasses and contact prescriptions. When I first went to them I had an eye irritation that they were able to quickly identify and treat. The doctors are attentive and knowledgeable. I was recently on vacation and forgot my contacts. The office staff worked quickly, despite being very busy wih patients, to fax my prescription to a local eyecare office who was able to fill it for me. The Koch teams' quick action saved my day and vacation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 01, 2016

I had Lasik done three weeks ago and it was the best decision I have ever made! Dr. Gerber performed the procedure at the new Chapel View facility and I cannot offer enough praise! The staff is wonderful and the facility is immaculate. I've been referring all of my friends and family to Koch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from U.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2016

I recently had LASIK surgery here. My initial appointment was very easy, and they squeezed me in for the surgery only 3 days later. The procedure was fast and easy. They gave clear expectations on recovery and care. Follow up the next day was easy. Everyone was very kind and helpful, my questions were all answered and my expectations accurate. And I can see! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2016

I have been going to Koch Eye Associates in Providence since I was 12 years old and Dr. Earle Scharff is still there and just as excellent as when he first started, maybe more if that's possible. The Practice has all the bells and whistles to equipment, new technology and courteous customer help. If you want your vision to be the best it can possibly be, this is the place for you. Maria at the front desk and Kathy in the on-site optical shop always get you what you want, while making sure you are covered as much as your insurance will allow. You will get personal assistance and the pleasure of special attention as far as them listening, having patience, and even throwing in some free contact lens samples. Maria will even take your new glasses out to your car curbside at pickup. My daughter now she goes, no matter where we live in Rhode Island, I will go out of my way to keep going here because they are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 22, 2014

My husband and I have been seeing Dr. Derisienski for 28 years now and couldn't ask for a better doctor! He is thorough, and takes time to explain things to you..... I highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2014

went in today to pick up my new glasses and had very good service.  Sue T who helped me was very customer friendly and competent More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 28, 2019

I'll begin this review by explaining that I haven't ever been to an eye doctor before. Even though I pay for supplemental vision insurance through my employer, I thought the only people who needed to go to the eye doctor were people who needed or wore glasses. Here's the PSA part of the review: That's not true, it is recommended that people see an eye doctor every one to two years -  even if they are not experiencing any concerns. So, now you know. I had been experiencing watery, itchy eyes for a few months and though it was just allergy related but decided I should stop complaining about it and finally go see a doctor to get an actual answer. I was terrified to go to my first visit and had no idea what to expect. I called Koch Eye based on a recommendation from a friend and because of how close it is to where I work. I'll be honest, the waiting area was cluttered and outdated and I almost psyched myself out from checking in for my appointment based on my first impression of the office. But before I could turn around to exit, the person working behind the desk, came out of the back and greeted me. She checked me in, completed my new patient paperwork electronically and brought me in to the exam room. The staff was warm and welcoming and made me feel very comfortable. Dr. Bea (pronounced bay) explained what she would be doing and what I could expect to feel as she added drops and dyes to my eyes. She performed a series of tests and took a good look in my eyes after they were dilated. Dr Bea was really easy to work with and even though I was nervous about all of the equipment and scary looking old-timey mechanical gadgets she was using, she kept me comfortable and at ease. I work in technology so the doctor administered an additional test that checked how my vision responded when items were close up and made a recommendation that I may benefit from wearing transition glasses at work or when I began experiencing eye fatigue from staring at a screen or tablet for extended periods of time. She also wrote out a plan to help manage my dry and itchy eyes which has helped tremendously. While I don't have any other experiences to compare this one with, I would recommend Dr Bea and I look forward to seeing her next year. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 14, 2017

I saw Dr. Ireland a few months ago in the Warwick office and she was so nice, the process of getting my new glasses was easy and fast.  The glasses were kind of crooked but i didn't really notice until i got home.  After putting off going back to the office to have them looked at, I decided to try to adjust them myself by messing with one of the screws.  I spent two hours trying to fix it but could not get it screwed back together. I took them to the Koch in Providence today and the lady that works in the frame department fixed them in about 2 minutes for free. I was so happy and everything was super easy. Both offices are very nice and staff is friendly.  The only thing about the providence location is parking kind of sucks downtown and there isnt a lot that i know of. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 22, 2014

I have been here twice and both experiences have been pretty solid.  While I'm knocking off a star for wait time, I'm adding 4 for a pleasant experience with all of the staff.  Upon walking in, the secretary was extremely friendly and helpful.  They squeezed me into a same-day appointment due to getting something in my eye that wouldn't come out (ouch!).   I waited about 40 minutes to be seen which was a tad frustrating but once the doctor came in, I felt at ease as he was extremely friendly, warm and very helpful.  He helped my poor eye and went the extra mile by giving me an eye exam (my current script expired literally that day) afterwards.   After fixing my eye, I went into the optical store attached to the office and was greeted by a friendly and also super helpful woman who struck up some fun conversation and helped me decide on the right pair.  I had an all around great experience here and would highly recommend to anyone who needs eye care. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from C.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 14, 2014

This is a good location for eye care.  They  have a caring staff that is always smiling.  I ended up being referred to this location because of a specialist they have come in periodically.  They  have very modern eye testing/mapping equipment and are known for their glaucoma care. They provide call-ahead reminders to ensure you remember your appointments which is very helpful for me.   I have had a few times where I showed up and the wait was VERY long but that was due to storm related cancellations.  I have also shown up and been in/out in 30 mins. Give them a try, especially if you need specialized eye care More

4.0
DAPI
Review from A.J.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 25, 2014

This office is fantastic. I had a huge problem with my previous optometrist's office so I was relieved that this office staff knew what they were doing and were efficient and friendly in the process. I noticed an elderly woman waiting for someone to pick her up and the staff offered to make a phone call for her to make sure they were on there way. That was pretty awesome. The technology is up to date and very helpful in diagnosing eye issues. The staff takes their time to assess everything and they seem to genuinely care.  The doctor was extremely knowledgeable and thorough with his care. He also discussed with me an issue I brought up about my son. I was very satisfied with my care and treatment there. I will be going to this office for all of my eye needs. The reason for 4 stars is because I was there for almost 2 hours and who really likes to spend that much time at a doctor's office? More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 21, 2013

I recently had my eye exam and I was very impressed that my new eye doctor took time with the exam and told me why my eyes where itching alot because of dry eye syndrome and she was nice enough to give me free samples of lubricated eye drops . Also I like to thank that nice lady Danielle for taking me right away before seeing the eye doctor she was very polite and so was the receptionist. I recommend this place to friends and family and my mother wants to go. Also, my eyes did change a little bit and I had to pick out my glasses and I really like them. Also, I received a call a week after my eye exam and they told,me my glasses were ready and when I put them on what a big difference I can see alot better. Thank you again Koch Associates I will be back next year!  :-) More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 01, 2013

The situation was resolved - after this, they called me, reevaluated my prescription free of charge, and bought back the wrong lenses/traded me for my correct prescription.  I was pleased with this outcome, although I wish that had been suggested as a possible solution before I got really upset, and I also wish I had been listened to more carefully the first time around.  Still, a huge improvement and I now have the lenses I want! More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 09, 2011

Patti Koch is one of the best eye doctors around.  Her singsong voice will stay with you for days. Honestly.  If Mary Poppin's was an eye doctor, she would be Patti. The office is always clean, has televisions and magazines out front, and the staff is warm and welcoming.  You can order your contacts and glasses through this facility, and they have decent prices. As awkward as a trip to an eye doctor can be, with the puffs of air, random drops in you eyes, not being able to distinguish E from B....Patti turns the experience around and makes it a breeze. I have seen a few other doctors at this office, and haven't loved them as much (hence the 4 stars,) but will see them if Patti isn't free. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.