Patient Reviews

Reviews for Koch Eye Associates

Patient Reviews

Koch Eye Associates wants to thank all of our wonderful patients who have taken the time to give us feedback on our practice. We know that online reviews are one of the most far-reaching and influential ways to let future patients know what they can expect when they visit us. At each of our eight locations spanning the coast of Rhode Island, our team of ophthalmologists, optometrists, and opticians strive to provide the best patient experiences. We believe that eye health is integral to a full, independent life so we want to make sure you can feel good about making appointments for regular exams. We hope these reviews help you in your decision to visit Koch Eye Associates. Please contact one of our advanced vision centers in Greater Rhode Island to get to know us today.

Filter33 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 08, 2019

I first went to Koch Eye many years ago after being referred there for a follow up appointment after being treated at the emergency room for an eye injury, That was the only time I actually saw Dr. Koch himself (who was very nice by the way) It is only in the last few years (since my old lady eyes have begun to need reading glasses) that I have come in regularly for my eye exam and glasses prescription. I never have any problem with wait time because there are several optometrists. Really the only thing I am not crazy about is their hours. I wish it was possible to get an evening appointment or that there was an occasional Saturday. The office staff is pleasant and courteous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 07, 2022

My wife and I are new patients and had an appointment yesterday at the tollgate rd. with Dr.Scharff very nice though dr .  location. The office was very busy. But was not hectic. The employees had it all under control. I had the pleasure of having a very nice young lady named Kim, This young lady was such a pleasure. As well as a breathe of fresh air very personable and held conversation. Made the appointment that much better for myself and my wife. We are both very glad we had made the decision to choose koch. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 27, 2021

I had a great experience with my appointment. Ashley, the technician,  was very professional and thorough and friendly. Dr Vania Bae did a thorough eye exam efficiently. She put me at ease during the eye exam and explained the findings to me afterwards. Everyone was very nice, helpful and professional. Great staff providing great service. Highly recommended! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 08, 2021

Recently had cataract surgery. Both the office and St. James Surgery Center functions like a well oiled machine. Every employee that I interacted with was knowledgeable, friendly and good at what they do. My only regret is that I never had the opportunity to thank Dr. Richard Sayegh personally for restoring my vision to a level that it had never been before. My distance vision is now 20/20 with no refractive correction and with the standard surgery. Results like that require a very high level of skill. Top notch eye care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2020

Absolutely loved my results. I had moderate to high myopia -7.00 to -7.50 in both of my eyes and I was still a candidate for lasik. The procedure is definitely a bit nerve wracking but they walk through every step as they go, and the staff is very comforting. The entire procedure is maybe 10-15 minutes, hang in there, it is so worth it. I am less than 24 hours post op and I can see almost perfectly clear. I had some burning for about 4-5 hours after my procedure, the best way I can describe it is, it felt like I had been cutting onions. Uncomfortable but not unbearable. Dr. Gerber was recommended to me by a co worker, he pleasant and put me at ease answering all my questions in the consult, I also elected to have him do my procedure as well and he was fantastic. The front desk staff and techs are also all fabulous. If you have an HSA or FSA you can use it, and my VSP vision insurance also covered 15% of the procedure. Absolutely life changing for someone with a script that was a bad as mine! A small price to pay in the long run for amazing vision. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 25, 2020

Had LASIK on 8/14/2020, great experience, I was well informed of what to expect.  No surprises.  Dr. Gerber was very professional and has good bed side manners.  For my follow up the next day I saw Dr. Bae and she was very nice, friendly and sweet.  The entire staff at all the locations I have visited for eye exams, purchase glasses and/or contacts have been very nice.  Very nice and clean locations, everyone wears a mask and practice social distancing as much as possible. I am glad I had this team for my surgery and my family eye care needs. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 14, 2020

I cant even begin to tell anyone how scary lasik sounded to me. My consult I was so so nervous but Dr. Gerber and his Technicians assured me id be ok. The day of my surgery Robin, Jennifer and Natality gave me such ease. Of course Dr. Gerber did a wonderful job he made me feel so comfortable and the experience was beyond any treatment I’ve ever recieved. I cant even explain how grateful I am. This was my first surgery ever and I was stressed out for nothing. I could hug that whole staff. 5 stars all day for this I highly recommend going here! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 28, 2019

Such an amazing experience! The staff and Dr. Gerber are AMAZING and were so helpful throughout the whole process from beginning to end within my Lasik journey. I can finally see!! I highly recommend Koch Eye associates in Cranston with Dr. Alex Gerber More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 06, 2019

Dr Rosenfeld is definitely one the best in the industry. Always makes you feel very comfortable ask plenty of questions to get the right answer the man is very compassionate and knows his job! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 02, 2019

I stopped in because I bent my glasses during a trip north and I needed them readjusted. When I asked if they could fix it, Kathy got right up to help me out.  She spent a good amount of time trying to get the right fit and the arm back in place.  She was so nice and helpful and when I went to offer to pay, she said there was no charge! I bought my glasses in PA so I was  grateful for her help and customer service. Thank you Kathy! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2019

I first went to Koch Eye many years ago after being referred there for a follow up appointment after being treated at the emergency room for an eye injury, That was the only time I actually saw Dr. Koch himself (who was very nice by the way)It is only in the last few years (since my old lady eyes have begun to need reading glasses) that I have come in regularly for my eye exam and glasses prescription. I never have any problem with wait time because there are several optometrists. Really the only thing I am not crazy about is their hours. I wish it was possible to get an evening appointment or that there was an occasional Saturday. The office staff is pleasant and courteous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 14, 2019

I took my daughter (8 y/o) here for her exam, she’s never been to an optometrist before and is completely scared of any Dr visits. The staff was great! They were very nice and talked with my daughter and told her everything they were going to do, look at, and what all the equipment was. Afterwards, the lady that works with the frames was super helpful, despite everyplace having limited selections for kids frames we found something our daughter wouldn’t mind wearing. She also did a great job explaining the sizes and how to understand what we were looking at. Definitely a great place if your kid never been to optometrist before! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2019

I took my daughter (8 y/o) here for her exam, she's never been to an optometrist before and is completely scared of any Dr visits. The staff was great! They were very nice and talked with my daughter and told her everything they were going to do, look at, and what all the equipment was. Afterwards, the lady that works with the frames was super helpful, despite everyplace having limited selections for kids frames we found something our daughter wouldn't mind wearing. She also did a great job explaining the sizes and how to understand what we were looking at. Definitely a great place if your kid never been to optometrist before! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 06, 2019

I love Dr. Burns and the ladies at the front desk. I am always in and out and never have trouble making an appointment. Today I looked at the eye glasses shop inside and was pleasantly surprised. The selection was better than I expected considering how small it is compared to LensCrafters. I paid half of what I would have paid at LensCrafters for the same thing. The woman who helped me was great she let me browse and when I found something I liked she was very helpful. I would definitely get glasses here again and will always come back for my exam. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 24, 2019

Been going there for years clean, efficienct, dedicated to helping someone whether rich or poor. Very upset about the raid by the FBI  we are not IN Nazi Germany. Creates an impression on people that is false. As a attorney I find it abhorrent that some Judge who is obviously afraid that Koch would shred documents is insane.. PETER KOCh my friend even wrote a letter for me to Law School Committee for me to. Get large print on my Lsat. I graduaie Rutgers Law with honors and to this day love their offices. Shame on the FBI. Have shared my opinion with other social media sites. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2019

I got Lasik surgery at the end of November, and it’s been everything I’d hoped for and more.  Everyone from the front desk to the nurses and doctors were very kind and clear about what was going to happen and when.  The whole surgery took less than 10 minutes, and I was in and out of the office within an hour on the day of the surgery.  The procedure was painless and the slight burning later in the day was gone by dinner.My vision was immediately better and as of today my vision is 20/15, better than 20/20!  And it’ll keep getting better since your vision isn’t 100% final for 3-4 months.I can’t say enough good things about my whole experience here.  I definitely recommend Koch Lasik to anyone even considering getting the procedure done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 07, 2019

I got Lasik surgery at the end of November, and it's been everything I'd hoped for and more.  Everyone from the front desk to the nurses and doctors were very kind and clear about what was going to happen and when.  The whole surgery took less than 10 minutes, and I was in and out of the office within an hour on the day of the surgery.  The procedure was painless and the slight burning later in the day was gone by dinner. My vision was immediately better and as of today my vision is 20/15, better than 20/20!  And it'll keep getting better since your vision isn't 100% final for 3-4 months. I can't say enough good things about my whole experience here.  I definitely recommend Koch Lasik to anyone even considering getting the procedure done. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 23, 2018

Just writing about the glasses shop - not the doctors. I thought the selection was large and fairly priced compared to other glasses shops in the area. They were carrying the specific glasses I saw at Len’s Crafters that I wanted. The price was lower and they accepted my VSP insurance unlike Lens Crafters. The saleswoman was extremely friendly. I’m really excited for my new glasses from here to come in! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.K.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 23, 2018

Just writing about the glasses shop - not the doctors. I thought the selection was large and fairly priced compared to other glasses shops in the area. They were carrying the specific glasses I saw at Len's Crafters that I wanted. The price was lower and they accepted my VSP insurance unlike Lens Crafters. The saleswoman was extremely friendly. I'm really excited for my new glasses from here to come in! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 29, 2018

I had Lasik done with Koch about 8 years ago, the experience was painless! the staff was comforting and made you feel like you were well taken care of.  My vision has never been better even though I have worn contact lenses for years I felt I could never get real clarity like I have now. I would recommend this practice to anyone who wants to have the procedure done. It is well worth it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 14, 2017

Kathy is amazing. I've broken my frames twice. I NEED my glasses. She knows which look best on your face and who are we kidding? They're on your face all day so it's pretty important. She took me in right away. I'm so glad to have a person like this in my life. Always there when I need her. Forgot the Dr's name but when I saw him we had some laughs about pink eye and contacts. Overall. . . This place is great from reception til the end. Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 14, 2017

Kathy is amazing. I’ve broken my frames twice. I NEED my glasses. She knows which look best on your face and who are we kidding? They’re on your face all day so it’s pretty important. She took me in right away. I’m so glad to have a person like this in my life. Always there when I need her. Forgot the Dr’s name but when I saw him we had some laughs about pink eye and contacts. Overall. . . This place is great from reception til the end. Thank you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 31, 2017

I first went to DR. Koch when lasik  was new. It had to be at least ten years ago. I was so scared at first because it was something new and not knowing what to expect, everyone was so caring and informative. Now after at having perfect vision I am now starting with blurred vision. I have called for an appointment and was told that the lasik only lasts for a certain amount of time! I was never told that, but it does make sense as our eyes do change with age...will update this after the next appt. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 17, 2017

Koch has been my eye place for the past two years and has done an excellent job with my glasses and contact prescriptions. When I first went to them I had an eye irritation that they were able to quickly identify and treat. The doctors are attentive and knowledgeable. I was recently on vacation and forgot my contacts. The office staff worked quickly, despite being very busy wih patients, to fax my prescription to a local eyecare office who was able to fill it for me. The Koch teams’ quick action saved my day and vacation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 17, 2017

Koch has been my eye place for the past two years and has done an excellent job with my glasses and contact prescriptions. When I first went to them I had an eye irritation that they were able to quickly identify and treat. The doctors are attentive and knowledgeable. I was recently on vacation and forgot my contacts. The office staff worked quickly, despite being very busy wih patients, to fax my prescription to a local eyecare office who was able to fill it for me. The Koch teams' quick action saved my day and vacation! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 01, 2016

I had Lasik done three weeks ago and it was the best decision I have ever made! Dr. Gerber performed the procedure at the new Chapel View facility and I cannot offer enough praise! The staff is wonderful and the facility is immaculate. I've been referring all of my friends and family to Koch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 01, 2016

I had Lasik done three weeks ago and it was the best decision I have ever made! Dr. Gerber performed the procedure at the new Chapel View facility and I cannot offer enough praise! The staff is wonderful and the facility is immaculate. I’ve been referring all of my friends and family to Koch! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from U.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 22, 2016

I recently had LASIK surgery here. My initial appointment was very easy, and they squeezed me in for the surgery only 3 days later. The procedure was fast and easy. They gave clear expectations on recovery and care. Follow up the next day was easy. Everyone was very kind and helpful, my questions were all answered and my expectations accurate. And I can see! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2016

I have been going to Koch Eye Associates in Providence since I was 12 years old and Dr. Earle Scharff is still there and just as excellent as when he first started, maybe more if that's possible. The Practice has all the bells and whistles to equipment, new technology and courteous customer help. If you want your vision to be the best it can possibly be, this is the place for you. Maria at the front desk and Kathy in the on-site optical shop always get you what you want, while making sure you are covered as much as your insurance will allow. You will get personal assistance and the pleasure of special attention as far as them listening, having patience, and even throwing in some free contact lens samples. Maria will even take your new glasses out to your car curbside at pickup. My daughter now she goes, no matter where we live in Rhode Island, I will go out of my way to keep going here because they are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 02, 2016

I have been going to Koch Eye Associates in Providence since I was 12 years old and Dr. Earle Scharff is still there and just as excellent as when he first started, maybe more if that’s possible. The Practice has all the bells and whistles to equipment, new technology and courteous customer help. If you want your vision to be the best it can possibly be, this is the place for you. Maria at the front desk and Kathy in the on-site optical shop always get you what you want, while making sure you are covered as much as your insurance will allow. You will get personal assistance and the pleasure of special attention as far as them listening, having patience, and even throwing in some free contact lens samples. Maria will even take your new glasses out to your car curbside at pickup.My daughter now she goes, no matter where we live in Rhode Island, I will go out of my way to keep going here because they are the best! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 22, 2014

My husband and I have been seeing Dr. Derisienski for 28 years now and couldn’t ask for a better doctor! He is thorough, and takes time to explain things to you..... I highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 22, 2014

My husband and I have been seeing Dr. Derisienski for 28 years now and couldn't ask for a better doctor! He is thorough, and takes time to explain things to you..... I highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 01, 2014

went in today to pick up my new glasses and had very good service.  Sue T who helped me was very customer friendly and competent More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.