Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews

Koch Eye Associates wants to thank all of our wonderful patients who have taken the time to give us feedback on our practice. We know that online reviews are one of the most far-reaching and influential ways to let future patients know what they can expect when they visit us. At each of our eight locations spanning the coast of Rhode Island, our team of ophthalmologists, optometrists, and opticians strive to provide the best patient experiences. We believe that eye health is integral to a full, independent life so we want to make sure you can feel good about making appointments for regular exams. We hope these reviews help you in your decision to visit Koch Eye Associates. Please contact one of our advanced vision centers in Greater Rhode Island to get to know us today.

Filter8 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2019

I first went to Koch Eye many years ago after being referred there for a follow up appointment after being treated at the emergency room for an eye injury, That was the only time I actually saw Dr. Koch himself (who was very nice by the way) It is only in the last few years (since my old lady eyes have begun to need reading glasses) that I have come in regularly for my eye exam and glasses prescription. I never have any problem with wait time because there are several optometrists. Really the only thing I am not crazy about is their hours. I wish it was possible to get an evening appointment or that there was an occasional Saturday. The office staff is pleasant and courteous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 30, 2020

Absolutely loved my results. I had moderate to high myopia -7.00 to -7.50 in both of my eyes and I was still a candidate for lasik. The procedure is definitely a bit nerve wracking but they walk through every step as they go, and the staff is very comforting. The entire procedure is maybe 10-15 minutes, hang in there, it is so worth it. I am less than 24 hours post op and I can see almost perfectly clear. I had some burning for about 4-5 hours after my procedure, the best way I can describe it is, it felt like I had been cutting onions. Uncomfortable but not unbearable. Dr. Gerber was recommended to me by a co worker, he pleasant and put me at ease answering all my questions in the consult, I also elected to have him do my procedure as well and he was fantastic. The front desk staff and techs are also all fabulous. If you have an HSA or FSA you can use it, and my VSP vision insurance also covered 15% of the procedure. Absolutely life changing for someone with a script that was a bad as mine! A small price to pay in the long run for amazing vision. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 29, 2019

I’ll begin this review by explaining that I haven’t ever been to an eye doctor before. Even though I pay for supplemental vision insurance through my employer, I thought the only people who needed to go to the eye doctor were people who needed or wore glasses. Here’s the PSA part of the review: That’s not true, it is recommended that people see an eye doctor every one to two years -  even if they are not experiencing any concerns. So, now you know. I had been experiencing watery, itchy eyes for a few months and though it was just allergy related but decided I should stop complaining about it and finally go see a doctor to get an actual answer. I was terrified to go to my first visit and had no idea what to expect. I called Koch Eye based on a recommendation from a friend and because of how close it is to where I work. I’ll be honest, the waiting area was cluttered and outdated and I almost psyched myself out from checking in for my appointment based on my first impression of the office. But before I could turn around to exit, the person working behind the desk, came out of the back and greeted me. She checked me in, completed my new patient paperwork electronically and brought me in to the exam room. The staff was warm and welcoming and made me feel very comfortable. Dr. Bea (pronounced bay) explained what she would be doing and what I could expect to feel as she added drops and dyes to my eyes. She performed a series of tests and took a good look in my eyes after they were dilated. Dr Bea was really easy to work with and even though I was nervous about all of the equipment and scary looking old-timey mechanical gadgets she was using, she kept me comfortable and at ease. I work in technology so the doctor administered an additional test that checked how my vision responded when items were close up and made a recommendation that I may benefit from wearing transition glasses at work or when I began experiencing eye fatigue from staring at a screen or tablet for extended periods of time. She also wrote out a plan to help manage my dry and itchy eyes which has helped tremendously. While I don’t have any other experiences to compare this one with, I would recommend Dr Bea and I look forward to seeing her next year. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 28, 2019

I'll begin this review by explaining that I haven't ever been to an eye doctor before. Even though I pay for supplemental vision insurance through my employer, I thought the only people who needed to go to the eye doctor were people who needed or wore glasses. Here's the PSA part of the review: That's not true, it is recommended that people see an eye doctor every one to two years -  even if they are not experiencing any concerns. So, now you know. I had been experiencing watery, itchy eyes for a few months and though it was just allergy related but decided I should stop complaining about it and finally go see a doctor to get an actual answer. I was terrified to go to my first visit and had no idea what to expect. I called Koch Eye based on a recommendation from a friend and because of how close it is to where I work. I'll be honest, the waiting area was cluttered and outdated and I almost psyched myself out from checking in for my appointment based on my first impression of the office. But before I could turn around to exit, the person working behind the desk, came out of the back and greeted me. She checked me in, completed my new patient paperwork electronically and brought me in to the exam room. The staff was warm and welcoming and made me feel very comfortable. Dr. Bea (pronounced bay) explained what she would be doing and what I could expect to feel as she added drops and dyes to my eyes. She performed a series of tests and took a good look in my eyes after they were dilated. Dr Bea was really easy to work with and even though I was nervous about all of the equipment and scary looking old-timey mechanical gadgets she was using, she kept me comfortable and at ease. I work in technology so the doctor administered an additional test that checked how my vision responded when items were close up and made a recommendation that I may benefit from wearing transition glasses at work or when I began experiencing eye fatigue from staring at a screen or tablet for extended periods of time. She also wrote out a plan to help manage my dry and itchy eyes which has helped tremendously. While I don't have any other experiences to compare this one with, I would recommend Dr Bea and I look forward to seeing her next year. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from I.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 09, 2019

I first went to Koch Eye many years ago after being referred there for a follow up appointment after being treated at the emergency room for an eye injury, That was the only time I actually saw Dr. Koch himself (who was very nice by the way)It is only in the last few years (since my old lady eyes have begun to need reading glasses) that I have come in regularly for my eye exam and glasses prescription. I never have any problem with wait time because there are several optometrists. Really the only thing I am not crazy about is their hours. I wish it was possible to get an evening appointment or that there was an occasional Saturday. The office staff is pleasant and courteous More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.G.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 31, 2017

I first went to DR. Koch when lasik  was new. It had to be at least ten years ago. I was so scared at first because it was something new and not knowing what to expect, everyone was so caring and informative. Now after at having perfect vision I am now starting with blurred vision. I have called for an appointment and was told that the lasik only lasts for a certain amount of time! I was never told that, but it does make sense as our eyes do change with age...will update this after the next appt. More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 21, 2013

I recently had my eye exam and I was very impressed that my new eye doctor took time with the exam and told me why my eyes where itching alot because of dry eye syndrome and she was nice enough to give me free samples of lubricated eye drops . Also I like to thank that nice lady Danielle for taking me right away before seeing the eye doctor she was very polite and so was the receptionist. I recommend this place to friends and family and my mother wants to go. Also, my eyes did change a little bit and I had to pick out my glasses and I really like them. Also, I received a call a week after my eye exam and they told,me my glasses were ready and when I put them on what a big difference I can see alot better. Thank you again Koch Associates I will be back next year!  :-) More

4.0
DAPI
Review from M.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 09, 2011

Patti Koch is one of the best eye doctors around.  Her singsong voice will stay with you for days. Honestly.  If Mary Poppin's was an eye doctor, she would be Patti. The office is always clean, has televisions and magazines out front, and the staff is warm and welcoming.  You can order your contacts and glasses through this facility, and they have decent prices. As awkward as a trip to an eye doctor can be, with the puffs of air, random drops in you eyes, not being able to distinguish E from B....Patti turns the experience around and makes it a breeze. I have seen a few other doctors at this office, and haven't loved them as much (hence the 4 stars,) but will see them if Patti isn't free. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.